top of page

June Reading Wrap

This June, I set out with a TBR that was 15 books long:


Let's see how I did!


The Camelot Betrayal by Kiersten White - 4 stars

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima - 3.5 stars

The Wizard Heir by Cinda Williams Chima - 3.5 stars

The Dragon Heir by Cinda Williams Chima - 3 stars

The Enchanter Heir by Cinda Williams Chima - 3.5 stars

The Sorcerer Heir by Cinda Williams Chima - 3.5 stars

The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima - 4 stars

The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima - 4.5 stars

The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima - 4.5 stars

The Burning Maze by Rick Riordan - 5 stars

The Tyrant's Tomb by Rick Riordan - 4 stars

The Tower of Nero by Rick Riordan - 4 stars

The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart - DNF

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo - 5 stars

Shadow of the Gods by John Gwynne - 2.5 stars


14 out of 15! Not bad, and throw in a couple of 5 star reads makes this a great reading month!


Not only did I hit 14 books on my TBR, I added some new ones as well! My monthly TBR is very dependant on what my local library has available, so when something on my larger TBR comes up I swipe it up quick.


Physical Books


This month, I read 12 physical books for a total of 6,260 pages.

I stuck to my TBR on this as the books became available from my library.

I finished two series, The Seven Realms and The Heir Chronicles, both by Cinda Williams Chima. I already posted my review of The Seven Realms, and you can look forward to my upcoming review of The Heir Chronicles.

I also started two new series, the Six of Crows duology and The Bloodsworn Trilogy. Neither of these series are on my 100 book reading challenge, so they aren't a priority, but I'm looking forward especially to the second book in the Six of Crows duology.

I completed my reading of the Throne of Glass series with the prequel, The Assassin's Blade. I was somewhat hesitant to read this, as prequels usually aren't my thing, but this book DESTROYED me in the best possible way. I was crying for like half an hour after having finished the book, not including the time I was crying while reading it. 5 stars.


Audio Books


I got through 9 audiobooks this month for a total of 114.25 hours of listening. 4 of these were relistens/rereads, and they were all books I'd read physically but not listened to before. It was really enjoyable to hear it from a different perspective.

There are a couple audiobooks here that were not included on my June TBR so I'll give you my ratings here!


Little Thieves by Margaret Owen - 3.5 stars

Realm Breaker by Victoria Aveyard - 2.5 stars

The Excalibur Curse by Kiersten White - 3 stars

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien - 4 stars

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco - 3.5 stars


I was also planning to listen to The Bone Shard Daughter this month, but I didn't like the narrators so I will plan to read that as a physical book sometime in the coming year.


E-books


Just one e-book this month - I normally don't like reading e-books as I only have my phone to read from, but this book was so good I was able to push through and really enjoyed it. 4 stars.


















July TBR

Here's my July TBR! It includes a couple of new series as well as some stand-alone books and the conclusion of the Six of Crows duology.


The Black Tides of Heaven by Neon Yang

Flamecaster by Cinda Williams Chima

Shadowcaster by Cinda Williams Chima

Stormcaster by Cinda Williams Chima

Deathcaster by Cinda Williams Chima

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

No Man of Woman Born by Ana Mardoll

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab


I am most looking forward to Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, and I think that will be one of my first July reads. I'm also intrigued by No Man of Woman Born, which is a collection of seven gender-bent tales featuring trans and non-binary characters. I will begin my foray into the work of Brandon Sanderson, who is lauded as something of a modern Tolkien by contemporary fantasy fans. According to the girl at the bookstore, "think Tolkien but not as dry," so I think I will enjoy it!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page