top of page

The Seven Realms - Series Wrap

The Seven Realms is a series of 4 books for young adult readers by Cinda Williams Chima. I did a post on the first book, The Demon King, that you can read here. These books were the 20th to 24th books in my 100 book challenge.


The Books


Book 1: The Demon King (3.5 Stars)

Book 2: The Exiled Queen (4 Stars)

Book 3: The Gray Wolf Throne (4.5 Stars)

Book 4: The Crimson Crown (4.5 Stars)



Summary


The series follows Han Alister, a street kid from the city of Fellsmarch, and the crown princess of that city, Raisa ana'Marianna, who is first in line to inherit the throne of the Queendom of the Fells. Through several misadventures and after dealing with plots to steal the throne and revelations of powers unknown, their paths cross and (spoiler but not really) they fall in love. Raisa needs to stop those who would seize her throne, and Han can help her - as long as no one kills them in the process.


The series has themes of prejudice, both along socio-economic and racial lines. Seeing the parallels between the world of the Seven Realms and our own world was quite stark.


The Characters


Teeny spoilers here


As I said in my previous post on The Demon King, this series doesn't have as rich of a fan art community as previous series that I've done, but here's some of what I found and my character map.






The World


Most of the series takes place in the north, or in the south west at Oden's Ford. Other areas are visited in the seriesThe Shattered Realms, which is set in the same world.


Overall Rating


As a series, I rate The Seven Realms 4 out of 5. I enjoyed reading it, but it was a little bit cliche and predictable at times. I would recommend this series for readers aged 12 and up.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page